Follow up from Love Least Expected: Kishan Paul Interview

One of the authors from the Love Least Expected anthology, due out in February is my fellow Scribophiler Kishan Paul.

Kishan Paul pic

Here Kishan talks about her writing:

*What has been the best advice you’ve received while writing?

Just write. Don’t worry about the editing or how it sounds until you’re done. Get your thoughts on paper. The rest will take care of itself.

*What can you tell us about your upcoming novel or any other stories you are working on?

Blind Love is my first novel, will be published by Samhain Publications the summer of 2015. I’m really excited about the story. Here’s the blurb for it:

At twenty nine, psychologist Lauren Baxter has a successful counseling practice. Since becoming legally blind at fifteen, her world has been a blurry mess of colors. Her greatest fear is also her ultimate reality. One day that fuzzy realm will forever turn black. Refusing to let blindness define her, she builds a life for herself with her dog, Jack Sparrow, and best friend, Sunny Daye, by her side.

Lauren has no tolerance for pity or for Superman swooshing down and rescuing her. She is capable of saving herself just fine. That is until Gabe, the great smelling, former Marine, from Texas moves in next door. Her attraction to him is immediate and, unfortunately for her, mutual.

When Lauren’s ex-husband shows up begging for another chance, she is confused and fragile. She also finds herself in the arms of her secretive neighbor. Little does she realize that her decision for a steamy roll in the hay with Gabe will suck her into his mysterious past, thrust her ex-husband back into her life, put her in the middle of a murder investigation, and place her life in danger. 

Gabriel Briggs has the weight of the world on his shoulders. Short term flings are all he can afford for more reasons than one – reasons he never plans to share. Until he moves in next door to the beautiful, green eyed, feisty, Lauren. One night with her and he’s reconsidering promises he made almost a decade ago. When a woman from his past is murdered, his world is turned upside down. Secrets are revealed and innocent lives are threatened.

Can Gabe win Lauren’s love and save her life before it’s too late? Blind Love is a 70 thousand word romance in which both Lauren and Gabe must challenge the fears that blind them in order to have a chance at love.

*If you were an animated character, who would you be and why?

My husband says I’d be Marge from the Simpsons. But I think I’m more Mulan. So how about a combination of the two? A woman who doesn’t wait for a man to save her but can keep a positive outlook no matter how crazy the people in her life are. J

*Where would you go in a time machine?

Definitely nowhere related to my life. There are so many mistakes I’ve made in my past. But each of them helped me become the person I am. The fact that I can look back and think, “God I was so dumb,” and laugh at myself is the most priceless thing. Something I would have never learned if I hadn’t messed up as much as I have. As far as in the future, I don’t want to know, I’ll experience it when I get there and laugh about it when I’m ninety, sitting in a nursing home with a bunch of other old farts.

Now if I could go back in time, I’d love to be a fly on the wall when Cleopatra rolled out of that carpet.

* If you had to choose to live at the beach, in the mountains, or in the city, where would you want to build your dream home and what do you love about that area?

I’d choose to build my dream home at the beach. There’s something soothing about hearing the waves crashing against the shore and sitting outside watching the sunrise or set in the water.

Kishan can be found at:

http://www.kishanpaul.net

6 thoughts on “Follow up from Love Least Expected: Kishan Paul Interview

  1. Great interview. I love Kishan’s work.

  2. Kishan Paul says:

    Thank you Belinda for hosting me!!

Leave a Reply

